resources. Operationally the international boundary commission reports through the minister of energy, mines and resources; in dealing with its counterpart in the United States it is responsible to the secretary of state for external affairs.

Department of External Affairs (External Affairs Canada). The main function of the department, established in 1909 (RSC 1970, c.E-20), is the protection and advancement of Canadian interests abroad. The responsible minister is the secretary of state for external affairs. The senior permanent officer (deputy minister) of the department, the under-secretary of state for external affairs, is assisted by four deputy under-secretaries and by four assistant under-secretaries and is advised by officers in charge of bureaus, offices and divisions. Directors-general or directors of these units are each responsible for part of the department's work and are assisted by foreign service officers, specialists in various occupational groups and an administrative staff. Officers serving abroad are formally designated as high commissioner, ambassador, minister, minister-counsellor, counsellor, first secretary, second secretary, third secretary and attaché at diplomatic posts and consul general, consul and vice-consul at consular posts. Canada maintains approximately 185 diplomatic, consular and other missions (200 including the permanent delegations to international organizations), 74 of which are non-resident.

In Ottawa the department's work is conducted by regional, functional and administrative bureaus and a number of operational units. The five regional bureaus administer 13 geographical divisions, each responsible for the countries of a region. Eight functional bureaus, including 22 divisions are concerned with commercial and commodity relations; consular services; co-ordination; defence and arms control; development, industry and science relations; legal affairs; public affairs; and United Nations affairs. Five administrative bureaus are responsible for personnel, finance and management, communications and general services, and security and intelligence liaison.

In addition, there are an inspection service, a policy analysis group, a protocol division, an operations centre, an interdepartmental committee on external relations, a chief air negotiator, an adviser on bilingualism, a passport office and a departmental press office.

The International Joint Commission reports to the secretary of state for external affairs of Canada as well as to the secretary of state of the United States. The secretary of state for external affairs reports to Parliament for the Canadian International Development Agency.

Department of Finance (Department of Finance Canada). Created by an act of Parliament in 1869, this department now operates under the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1970, c.F-10 as amended). It is primarily responsible for advising the government on the economic and financial affairs of Canada. The department's work is carried out in five branches. The tax policy and federal-provincial relations branch helps to form tax policy and maintain the tax structure. It deals with personal income and commodity taxes, taxes on corporations and Canada's international tax relations. Fiscal relations with the provinces are the responsibility of a federal-provincial relations division. The branch also administers grants to municipalities in lieu of taxes on government property and advises on the government's social development and manpower policies. The economic programs and government finance branch is concerned with resource development, various government programs of broad economic development and the financing of Crown corporations and government agencies. The international trade and finance branch is concerned with trade policy and development, the Canadian aid program and customs tariffs. The fiscal policy and economics analysis branch monitors the economy, analyzes the potential impact of various alternative courses for government fiscal policy and participates in a number of international organizations, including the International Monetary Fund. A capital markets division is responsible for monitoring developments in capital markets and advising on the government's debt operations. The inspector general of banks is an office of the department. An economic planning branch is responsible for co-ordinating, planning and developing medium- and long-term economic measures and policies. The following agencies report to Parliament through the minister of finance: the Anti-dumping Tribunal, the Bank of Canada, the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation, the Department of Insurance, the Tariff Board and the Anti-Inflation Board. The minister of finance acts as spokesman in Parliament for the auditor general.

**Department of Fisheries and the Environment** (Fisheries and Environment Canada). Established by an act of Parliament in June 1971 (SC 1970-71, c.42), the environment department, now called the Department of Fisheries and the Environment, carries the main federal responsibility for attacking pollution and ensuring proper management and development of Canada's renewable resources. The department is organized into two principal components, the fisheries and marine service and environmental services, each headed by a senior assistant deputy minister.

The fisheries and marine service is composed of three major divisions — fisheries management, ocean and aquatic sciences and small craft harbours — which function in conjunction with an international directorate and other policy and liaison groups at headquarters in Ottawa.

Fisheries management is responsible for conservation and restoration of fish stocks, allocation and control of access to fishery resources, biological and technical research of fish and other aquatic flora and fauna, a national program of fish inspection, marketing and promotion, fishing vessel insurance and vessel construction subsidy administration.